skip to main content

2015 Watkins Award Weekend

The Watkins Award ceremony will be held at the prestigious

Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill
400 New Jersey Ave NW
Washington DC 20001


      Arrivals, Thursday, February 19, 12 pm - 10 pm

      Breakfast, Friday, February 20, 7:30 am - 8:30 am

      Tour of DC (Capitol Hill, White House), Friday, February 20,
9:00 am - 11:30 am

      Lunch, Under Armour (Tentative), Friday, February 20,
1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

      Tour of Under Armour (Tentative) , Friday, February 20,
2:00 pm - 3:30 pm

      Dress Rehearsal, Friday, February 20, 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

      VIP Welcome Reception, Friday, February 20, 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

      Alliance/Watkins Celebrity Bowl, Friday, February 20, 8 pm - 10 pm

       ESPN SportsShop, Radio Interview, Saturday, February 21,
8:00 am - 9 am

       Teen Summit/Football Camp, Saturday, February 21,
10 am - 1:00 pm more information

       Lunch, Saturday, February 21, 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm

       Watkins Alumni Session, Saturday, February 21,
2:30 pm - 3:30 pm

       Press Conference, Saturday, February 21, 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

       Red Carpet , Saturday, February 21, 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm

       VIP & General Reception, Saturday, February 21, 6 pm - 7 pm

       The Franklin D. Watkins Awards Gala, Saturday, February 21,
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm

       Brunch, Sunday, February 22, 9:00 am - 12:00 pm

       Departure (Thoughout the Day) , Sunday, February 22

Hotel Reservations

Make your reservations NOW!! Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill, 400 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC has offered an extraordinary rate and is ready to host all of us.

Reservations can be made online or by calling the Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill, 400 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC directly at 1-888-421-1442.

  • Rate: Call for Rates

Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill
400 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC

Questions? Call Brian at (301) 238-5246

About the Watkins Award

The Watkins Award is presented annually to African American scholar-athletes since 1992, the Watkins Award is named for Franklin D. Watkins, the coach of championship football and basketball teams in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.  Previous awardees include Rhodes Scholar, Myron Rolle, Justin Blalock of the Atlanta Falcons, Ted Ginn Jr. of the Miami Dolphins, Lorenzo Alexander of the Washington Redskins, Mohammed Massaquoi of the Cleveland Browns, Darnell Dinkins of the New Orleans Saints, LaVarr Arrington of the New York Giants, Grant Irons and Ronald Curry formerly of the Oakland Raiders, Deryck Toles of the Indianapolis Colts, Marcedes Lewis of Jacksonville Jaguars, Ernie Sims of the Detroit Lions, and Darius Walker of the Houston Texans.

"The 2014 Watkins Award features another year of fine student athletes," Everette Pearsall, Executive Director of The Alliance, shares.  “Each of these young men is well equipped for success academically. We have continued to recognize and honor the premier African American Scholar Athletes in the United States."

2015 Finalists

The six finalists  announced...

Finalists are chosen based on their unweighted grade point average, their personal statements, extra curricular activities, community service, and letters of recommendation. Each winner will be recognized in Los Angeles, receive an award, ring, and dinner in their hometown.


Sponsors of this year’s event include Presenting Sponsor Deloitte & Touche, LLP, Peoples Financial Services, Bacardi, Roscoe’s Chicken and Waffles, Nash Management Group, Stephon Valentine Limos and Jostens Corporation who manufactures and donates the Watkins Award trophy and rings.


Press Release

The National Alliance of African American Athletes was founded in 1989.  The mission of The Alliance is to empower African American males through athletics, education and public programs.

Media representatives are invited to cover the awards ceremony. For more information about the Watkins Award, The Alliance, or to get tickets for the awards ceremony browse our website or email

Home | About | Partners | Store | Join | Contact | Sitemap | The Archive